Writings from the Furnace

2022/12/25 — Once more into the breach

Tags: Personal Neocities Category: Ramblings

Hey. It’s been a while. It’s been more or less a year since I deleted my previous iteration of this website, and more or less two years since I started that iteration. It has been quite the pandemic. I suppose I owe some explanations to the folks who knew me back then, and an introduction to those who didn’t. Let’s start with the introduction then, since I might as well.

Hey. I go by the name of furnacewriter, but people usually just call me Furnace. I’m just a fellow who likes writing, like many others around this website (this kinda-sorta-but-not-really social media). I like to write essays (which go by the name of Articles on the bar up there), on a variety of subjects. I like to be freeform, but to adhere to some level of accuracy (though not that much) through research. This means that sometimes my writing tends to be dense, though I strive for it to be as pleasant as possible to read (form is just as important as content!) Right now, at the moment of this website’s launch, you’ll find a couple of texts, one of them a significant revision of a work present on the previous version of this website, and a new one (and maybe even some more? Who knows!) Reviews and stuff like that will also go there.

In addition to the essays, I also offer a news digest with the most important bits of each week’s news. This serves a double purpose: to get myself to train my skill of sifting though the bullshit on the daily news, and finding what really matters (a rather useful skill); but also because too often I see people wanting to know what’s happening and kinda getting lost on what is important and what isn’t? Especially since news agencies make little effort to distinguish what is crucial from what is just fluff or outright propaganda. Maybe this can be an useful service?

Besides that, I also write this blog here, under the category of “Thoughts”, as a way to write whenever I feel like it without holding myself to any particular standard. There are pretty much no rules, though I’ll avoid including extratextual content (images, sounds, etc.) The point is to focus on the writing, after all.

I guess that’s it. I might create some new sections with different kinds of content (maybe fiction?) in the future, but for now that’s all.

It should be noted, so as to leave no doubt: I write unabashedly from a left perspective, especially through a marxist lens. I find it to be the most powerful philosophical toolset available. Dialectics is one hell of a drug. If this bothers you, read anyway since you’ll develop your own ideas and arguments through the effort of demolishing my own (I guarantee it, it’s great practice).

The introduction aside, now I’ll leave some explanations for the folks who used to be on the discord (if you know, you know). So… yeah, sorry. I was in a shit place and I had no mental capacity to try and make it a good place to be in, and I felt responsible for it kinda floundering since I was admin, (especially since I kinda hate discord anyway? It’s pretty terrible software), and I just got sick and tired of the stuff I wrote (artists will understand), so I obliterated all of it and disappeared. You can still find it archived, if you so desire, etched in digital stone (archive.org). This does not mean I abandoned the texts and themes I had started working with; I still intend to write about the strange phenomenon of death for internet celebrities, the nature of addictions, and a whole bunch more stuff I only hinted at during the earliest of iterations of the website (damn it was shit, I kinda miss it tbh). That being said, please do share your opinions about the redesign! I’m not too sure about the colors (being colorblind kinda hampers that), so any suggestions are welcome.

And yes, I intend to stay for good this time. Especially since maintaining a website made with Hugo is so much easier than handcoding shit, fuck that was awful (but also a lot of fun).

See ya,

- F.

P.S.: If you kinda just detest the way this website looks, or just love reading things in a very convenient manner, I offer RSS feeds, linked on the footer of every page, where you can subscribe to the whole of the website or just you preferred part of it, so as to read in whatever device you want in whichever way you find best. Thanks to Hugo for autogenerating these feeds!